ILLUSIONS OF FATE REVIEW

by - April 14, 2016

TITLE:Illusions Of Fate 
AUTHOR: Kiersten White
SERIES: Standalone
PUBLICATION DATE: September 9 2014
PUBLISHER: HarperTeen
SOURCE: Bought

Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.
 (less)





This book reminded me of the Disney movie, Starstruck! I don't know if you guys have watched it but the characters are so alike! Jessa reminds me of Jessica from the movie, they are both stubborn, prideful, intelligent and have the kindest hearts. They don't like being coveted and being served on a silver platter and would rather go out and work in the real world. As soon as i met Jessa i thought, Jessica! So if you want to know what the protagonist is like just go watch Starstruck!

Have you guys watched Howl's Moving Castle??? Another great movie which i absolutely love and the author actually mentioned that Finn was inspired by Howl. But the similarities don't stop there! I would definitely say Illusions Of Fate is a RETELLING of Howl's Moving Castle! I know a lot of people call this a total rip off and i agree a little that it's way too similar but i'm not actually mad because i did enjoy the book and the movie. So for fun i made a tiny list of the similarities!

The female leads are both walking in the street and are being teased by men when the handsome blond magician swoops in and saves them.

 Both Finn and Howl dye their hair blonde



The magical castle that opens doors to various parts of the country.

The recurring imagery of birds

The animal that follows them around but once belonged to the enemy-Sir Bird in the book who belonged to Lord Downpike.

And A LOT of other things...like the male lead being involved in a political war and everyone trying to find out what side he's on..but i was really happy to see one of my favorite movies come to life in a YA book!

Moving on to Finn, he stole my heart as soon as we met him! He's a mysterious young man oozing charm and mystery!!!!! IRRESISTIBLE!! He's depicted as this elusive and mysterious man in the society that everyone tries to figure out...That brings us to the romance which was not rushed and definitely not insta-love. Thank god Jessa had a sane mind and her head firmly planted on her shoulders! Also she has a thing for Finn's collarbone which i personally found a little weird but then it started getting cute so i dismissed it:P

I also really enjoyed the little detail of the fights between Sir Bird and Finn, their fighting was simply adorable and made Finn a little dorkier which was super cute!

I think the only thing that didn't do it for me was the slight lack of background. There was some explanation on the two lines of magic and their descendants and the author threw in a political struggle revolving around that, which i thought was super awesome, But i feel like for a standalone i needed a little more info. There is a positive side also that it's a quick supernatural/romance read if you don't want to get started on a series.

The ending was good and it did make my heart stop for a moment because i couldn't believe what was happening. I was so doubtful about what was happening and there were two possibilities. Either what was happening was true but could a standalone really finish like that or everything was a joke. If it had been the other ending instead of the one that happens i would have rated this book 2 stars! Thank god it didn't!

I do recommend this because it's a really good book and it's a standalone!!! Go read it and GO WATCH HOWL'S MOVING CASTLE! If the plot of the movie doesn't get to you (i highly doubt that) the amazing colors and the vivid graphics definitely will!! I mean JUST LOOK!








You May Also Like

2 comments

  1. Finn was inspired by Howl?! Seriously?! I have Illusions of Fate but haven't read it yet. But now it's so freaking high on to-read list because I LOVE Howl's Moving Castle! :D

    ReplyDelete

Thanks a million for taking the time to post a comment :)